Creating a clear setup of user roles and rights is vital to your HR administration. You want to comply with privacy regulations and make sure not the entire organisation can view confidential information. We’ll explain the different user rights and the roles they play in HoorayHR.
Four user roles
There are 4 types of users with different types of rights in HoorayHR:
Administrator: often the employer, office manager or HR manager
Team leader: for team leaders, managers, heads of department or branch managers.
User/employee: for employees
Archived user/employee: for employees who are no longer with the organisation
Let’s move on to what these roles actually mean in practise.
There is one workspace for everyone: the workspace the administrator signed up for.
Only the administrator has access to all areas of the company’s personal HoorayHR workspace so they can manage HR well. They can also change the HoorayHR settings. The administrator also receives all notifications, such as leave requests, except if team leaders have been assigned. Administrators can also add or delete leave requests, notifications of absence and overtime notifications for other employees. All other roles can only do this for leave requests. This keeps your administration complete. Finally, administrators can invite employees, upload contracts and see invoice payment details.
Want to share your administrator rights? Go to an employee’s settings and make them administrator.
A team leader has access to all data of the colleagues in their team and can view the basic profile of all colleagues in the organisation. This means they can see the personnel files of all their team members. The team leader also has access to the menu items “Leave”, “Sick leave”, “Time” and “Reports”. A team leader only sees the data from these items that apply to their team. They also receive all accompanying notifications, such as a team member’s leave request. If you are an administrator and also want to get notifications from a specific team you need to assign yourself as team leader of the team in question as well.
You can assign team leaders under “Teams“.
A user has access to their own personnel file. This ensures a transparent working relationship and saves you time explaining how the annual leave allowance is set up. A user can send in requests by web or app. A user cannot delete leave requests, notifications of absence and overtime themselves. A leave request can only be revoked. The team leader and/or administrator will be notified of this.
Apart from their own personnel file, users also have access to all other employees’ basic profile. This makes it easy to get to know each other, or to quickly find a phone number. Of course the user does not have access to other’s full personnel files so that privacy is ensured.
You an use the archived user role for employees who are no longer with the company. All archived user data will still be retrievable for administrators. The archived users themselves can no longer log in to HoorayHR.
If you need help, please let us know! You can always chat with us in the bottom right corner.